85K Challenge 2017- entré - University of Canterbury Entrepreneurship Challenge - University of Canterbury - New Zealand

$85K Start Up Challenge 2017

2017 Top 11

The top 11 teams for 2017 have been announced and are:

AMP Solutions - Charan Ashokraj
Biome - Logan Williams, Fiona Ambler, Matthew Hurley
Eden Orchards - Jacob Bignell
Jekka - Jessica Langtry
Primal Future - Todd Selak
Streetseen - Rafaela Bolanos, Tobin Bain-Hogg
Talk Me Through - Averill Williamson
TalkTown - Zoe Haws
The Monthly Co - Isabelle Smith & Josie Milton
Transition Navigators - Robyn Johnston
Nextgig - Matthew Williamson, James Watson

Read more on the teams (67KB, PDF)

Congratulations to you all!


About the $85K Start-Up Challenge

The $85K Start-Up Challenge is our premier competition in which $85K worth of prizes are up for grabs. Entrants go through the process of developing a business idea, whether it be a product or service, for-profit or a charity, and receive business world experience as well as invaluable guidance and mentoring from industry professionals.

The $85k competition is for everyone and anyone. No matter what you study or how much experience you have in entrepreneurship, this competition will help you develop your personal and professional skills in more ways than you can imagine! You will meet likeminded students, inspiring business professionals, knowledgeable mentors and be supported by our awesome entré executive team.

This competition is an intensive development programme and runs over a 6-month time period. You can enter as an individual or as a team. Applications for our 2017 competition open on the 8th of May 2017 and close on the 5th of June 2017. The first round of the competition involves an application form which is used to select the top 20 entrants. These top 20 teams will then be required to attend 3 workshops and a pitching practice which will help prepare them for the next stage - a pitch and interview with a panel of judges. The results of round 2 will be announced at our Qualifiers evening and will determine the top 10 which will then go on to develop their business over the course of the programme. This process will include social opportunities for the top 10 teams to network with each other, a 3-day incubator, various workshops, mentoring, pitch practices and more!

More Information

Want to know more about the competition before you enter? Come along to our lunch information session (8th May 12-1pm) and Speed Mentoring evening (15th May from 6.30pm - 8.30pm). Also feel free to email our $85k Start-up Challenge Manager Victoria at 85k@entre.co.nz or drop into the UC Centre for Entrepreneurship located on the first floor of the Forestry building.

2017 Rules & Guidelines

Read about the competition rules & guidelines: 2017 Rules & Guidelines Document (WordDoc)

Previous Winners


Grand Winner & Best Business Plan: Anteater (Peter Randrup, Rebecca De Prospo & Duncan Shand)
Runner Up & Best Pitch: Sonder Leather (James Richardson)
Best App: Relish (George Mander, Emma Walker, Hannah Sutherland, Aydin Arik & Kaan Arik)
Sustainability & Social Enterprise and Business Development Award: Mallu (Clive Anthony, Meg Gerrard & Jess Langtry)
Business Development Award: Intergrow (Felecity Powell)
Business Development Award: The Pegboard Company (Tom Mackintosh & Toby Baker)
Business Development Award: Mecon (Todd Selak, Alan Watt, Sean Peraless & Josh Kerr)
Business Development Award: DB Cycle (Mike Brophy)
usiness Development Award: Peak to Plateau (Stefan Warnaar)
Read more on these teams and view their public disclosures (281 KB, PDF).


Grand Winner: Taylor Howatson & Aaron Ang from Wireless Guard
Runners Up: Andy Graham from Voltcuffs & Nick Donkers from TipRun
Best Pitch: Nick Donkers from TipRun
Best Business Plan: Bridget Williams & Luke Gillespie from Two Weeks Without
Best App: Taylor Howatson & Aaron Ang from Wireless Guard
Sustainability & Social Enterprise Award: Samantha Jones & Lina Kay from Little Yellow Bird
Business Development Awards: George Prattley & Harry Loughnan from GH Aerial; Daniel Philpott & Peter Glasson from Mulberry Street; Harrison Steedman & Jayden Wales from Site Eyes

Read more on the 2015 qualifiers and view their public disclosures (PDF - 232KB).


Grand Winner - Liz Riach from My Killa Heels
Runners Up - Jorgen Ellis from Kitset Man and Lucy Player Bishop from Chalkboard
Best Business Pitch - Jorgen Ellis from Kitset Man
Best Business Plan - Ellie Barrett from Genius Children's Cooking Classes
Most Market Ready Venture - Lucy Player-Bishop from Chalkboard
Community Focus Award - Tom Beaumont & Campbell Alexander from CleanStreams
Chambers Award - Brianne West from Sorbet
Lane Neave Award - Luke Gillespie, Charles He & Julia Arnott from Go Beyond
C-Lab Co-Working Space Innovation Award - Hayden Graham & Connor Eatwell from Viscappower
House Innovation Award - Steven Seo from Tredan Technologies

Please click here to view the 2014 competition qualifiers and their public disclosure statements.


Grand Winner - AgriSolar (Daniel & Kaye)
Best Pitch and PWC Most Market Ready - Glass Jar (George & Bjorn)
Best Business Plan - Hunters & Gatherers (Kate)
UC Innovators Award - Himalayan Tahr (Dylan & Hugh)
powerHouse Award - Efficient Timber Extraction (Stu & Andrew)

Please click here to view the 2013 competition qualifiers and their public disclosure statements.


Grand Winner: AppointME (James Moore & Thomas Harding)
Best Team: Puteko Ltd (Katy Kelly, Adrian Clark, Samuel Williams & Andreas Duensar)
Most Improved: Euphoria Wake Lake (Todd Rabbit)
Most Market Ready: InoMA Furniture (Jonathan Love, Darryl Jacobsen, Richard Lorgelly, Antonia Lozano Ortiz, Sandy Qiu)
PowerHouse Incubator Prize: Alga BioPro (Neha Chandraskeran, Swami Detchanamurthy, Tejraj Janmale)
Best Pitch: AppointME & FODapp were Joint Winners (AppointME Team: James Moore & Thomas Harding) (FODapp Team: Courteney Johnston & Anna Porter)

Please click here to view their (Public Disclosures)

  • Entré Ltd
    Centre for Entrepreneurship
    University of Canterbury
    Private Bag 4800, Christchurch
    New Zealand
  • Clubs Administrator for Entré
    Mary Cunningham
    Ph: 03 369 3381
    Centre for Entrepreneurship, Ground Floor, Forestry Building